getting started with blp api and emulator

Apr 4 at 11:26 AM
Edited Apr 4 at 4:05 PM
Hello,
I have to write a program to extract data from bloomberg.
I'm a beginner for both bloomberg environment and also its API.
I've just installed Python on my pc, and also your emulator.

Is it enough or I need something else?

My question is due to the fact that an example of python code, taken from _"https://www.bloomberglabs.com/api/libraries/"_, starts with:
import blpapi
import copy
import datetime
from optparse import OptionParser, Option, OptionValueError
where can I find them?

thanks a lot
:(
michele
Coordinator
Apr 4 at 9:09 PM
Michele,

I haven't written a Python version of the emulator. I've only supported .Net languages (e.g., C#), Java, and C++. Bloomberg supports those three as well as Python and Perl https://www.bloomberglabs.com/api/libraries/

You might be able to find some way to call C#, Java, or C++ code from Python. I have no idea as I have no experience with Python.

-Jordan
Apr 5 at 7:21 AM
Edited Apr 5 at 10:59 AM
Thank you Jordan

I would like to use your emulator so I can follow the way C++ (I know C, guess I can try and learn C++)

so, considering C++, may you please give me the steps to start?

thanks again for your support and patient..
michele.
Apr 5 at 10:58 AM
Edited Apr 6 at 7:59 AM
I guess I have to follow some step like these:

1st: Install VC++ 2010 Express : http://filehippo.com/download_visualc_2010_express_edition

2nd: download Bloomberg C++ SDK https://bloomberg.bintray.com/BLPAPI-Stable-Generic/blpapi_cpp_3.8.18.1-windows.zip and unzip it to somewhere like C:\BLPAPI\CPP. Then include the Bloomberg C++ SDK (C:\BLPAPI\CPP\BIN) into the "PATH" environment variable.

3th: Set the BLPAPI_ROOT system environment variable to C:\BLPAPI\CPP (This PC, Properties, Advanced System Settings, Advanced, Environment Variables, System Variables, New)

4rd: install C++ environment (I think I can use VS express 2010, right?)